AI Video Clipper Pricing & Limits, September 17, 2026
Katto is priced in EUR; competitor prices are in USD as listed on each vendor's site. Prices are for the cheapest paid plan relevant to the product. Read Pricing model, Quota, Max source length and Key limits together. Re-verified quarterly.
Key findings
- 01Agent surfaces are still rare. 16 of 24 tools expose a public API and 11 ship an MCP server; 11 do both, which leaves 5 with an API but no MCP and 0 with an MCP server but no API. Fewer than half of these clippers can be driven end-to-end by an AI agent today.
- 02Most tools bill by duration or credits, not by output. 9 of 24 meter with an AI-credit system and the majority price by source minutes or hours, so a longer video costs more. Only 3 bill by the number of videos regardless of length.
- 0321 of 24 offer a genuine free tier and 3 are trial-only; even among the free tiers, most watermark the export or cap it to a few clips a month ā the "Free tier" and "Key limits" columns say which.
- 04Cheapest-on-one-clip and cheapest-at-volume are different questions. Several credit packs undercut a subscription on a single short video; the flat per-video plans (Katto among the 3) only pull ahead once you publish long-form every week.
Counts are computed from the 24 rows below and update with them. See Methodology.
| Tool | Type | Primary use case | Cheapest plan | Monthly | Annual | Pricing model | Metered by | Quota | Max source length | API | MCP | Auto-publish | Key limits | Free tier | Last verified | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Katto | Dedicated AI clipper | Automated long-form ā shorts, cloud + agents | Creator | ā¬14.90 | ā¬11.90 | Per-video quota, no credits | Videos | 25 videos/mo | 90 min | Yes | Yes | Yes | 1080p; same quota covers dashboard + API + MCP | 2 videos/mo (ā¤30 min); 7-day Creator trial (card required) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| OpusClip | Dedicated AI clipper | Automated long-form ā shorts | Starter | $15 | ā | Per source minute | Minutes | 150 processing min/mo | 10 hr | Yes | Yes | Yes | 30 GB/video via API; Pro is $29/mo or $14.50/mo annual with 3,600 yearly credits | 60 processing min/mo (watermark; exports expire after 3 days) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Submagic | Short-form editor + clipping | Caption/short editing; long-video clips via add-on | Starter | $19 | $12 | Short projects + Magic Clips add-on | Projects | 15 short projects/mo; Magic Clips add-on: 10 sources/mo | ? (Starter short projects: 2 min) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Magic Clips costs $19/mo separately and uses 1 credit per source; source-length cap is not disclosed | 3 short projects/mo (1.5 min; watermark) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Gling | Long-form YouTube editor | Speech-led editing, captions and short clips | Plus | $20 | $10 | Processing hours | Hours | 10 hrs AI-edited media/mo | Not disclosed | ? | ? | ? | 1080p; unlimited watermark-free exports; XML export to Premiere, Final Cut and Resolve | 1 hr/mo (watermark) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Vizard AI | Dedicated AI clipper | Automated long-form ā shorts | Creator | see site | see site | Credit-based (1 credit = 1 min) | Credits | From 600 credits/mo (7,200/year on annual) | 600 min | Yes | ? | Yes | 4K; 30 GB uploads; 100 GB storage; 6 social accounts; API included in paid plans | 60 credits/mo (720p; 10-min exports; 3-day storage) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Descript | General editor | Full editor + transcript-based editing | Hobbyist | $24 | $16 | Subscription (media hours + AI credits) | Hours + credits | 10 media hr/mo + 400 AI credits | Not disclosed | Yes | Yes | ? | 1080p; API is open beta; API cannot export local media files | 1 media hr/mo + 100 one-time AI credits (720p; no watermark) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Riverside | Recording platform | Record + repurpose | Pro | $29 | $24 | Separate-track download hours | Hours | 15 hr separate-track downloads/mo; 1 studio | Recording-based | Yes | Yes | Yes | MCP and scheduling require Grow ($39/mo); API requires Business; recording-first workflow | 14-day trial; no permanent free plan | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Veed.io | General editor | General online video editing | Creator | see site | see site | Per-seat subscription + AI credits | Seats + credits | AI-credit allowance varies by plan and checkout | ? | Yes | Yes | ? | Regional/checkout pricing; API and Fabric MCP expose generation/media tools, not the complete editor workflow | Free editor; AI-credit availability varies by region | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Klap | Dedicated AI clipper | Automated long-form ā shorts | Basic | see site | $14 | Clip quota | Clips | 100 clips/mo | 4 hr | Yes | ? | Yes | 2 GB source; API usage is billed separately per input, generated short and export operation | 1 video (no card; no watermark) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| CapCut | General editor | Full manual editing + long-video-to-shorts tool | Pro | see site | see site | Subscription + AI credits | Credits | Varies by plan, region and checkout | ? | ? | ? | Yes | Price and included features vary by country, platform, taxes and promotions | Free editor; paid assets and AI features vary | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Ssemble | Dedicated AI clipper | Automated long-form ā shorts | Pro | $15 | $6 | Input-time segments (1 credit per ā¤20 min) | Credits | 360 credits/year (30/mo equivalent) | Not disclosed; billed in 20-min segments | Yes | Yes | Yes | Clip Entire Video splits long sources into 20-min units: 1 hr costs 3 credits; 5 hr costs 15 | Free entry available; allowance not stated on current pricing page | September 17, 2026 | site |
| 2short.ai | Dedicated AI clipper | Spoken YouTube video ā shorts | Lite | $9.90 | ā | Analysis hours + export minutes | Hours + minutes | 5 hr analysis/mo + 60 min fast-server exports/mo | Not disclosed | ? | ? | ? | Spoken-word/caption-led input; public YouTube URLs and Google Drive on Lite | Pricing card says 30 analysis min/mo; another section on the same page says 15 | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Munch | Repurposing suite | Repurpose + distribute long-form | Essential | $48 | $38 | Subscription (minutes + generated videos) | Minutes | 500 min/mo, 10 generated videos/mo, 100 GB | Not disclosed | ? | ? | Yes | One brand and one owner on Essential; social-suite workflow | No free plan (7-day trial) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Spikes Studio | Dedicated AI clipper | Automated long-form/stream ā shorts | PRO+ | $32.99 | $14.09 | Processing minutes | Minutes | 300 min/mo; 3,600 min/year on annual | Not disclosed | Yes | ? | Yes | 1080p; API access requires application; scheduler supports major social platforms | 30 min/mo (720p; watermark) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| quso.ai | Repurposing suite | Repurpose + schedule to socials | Lite | $29 | $19 | Credits (about 1 credit per input min) | Credits | 100 credits/mo; annual plan supplies 200/mo equivalent upfront | Not disclosed | ? | ? | Yes | Input minutes round up; 1080p exports; scheduler supports 6 platforms | 75 credits/mo (720p; 7-day storage) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Choppity | Dedicated AI clipper | Automated long-form ā shorts | Starter | $20 | $14 | AI analysis hours | Hours | 3 hr AI video analysis/mo | Not disclosed | Yes | ? | Yes | API starts on Creator, not Starter; 40 GB and 30-day storage on Starter | 1 hr analysis; 2 GB; 3-day storage; viewing allowed but no export | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Kapwing | General editor | General editing for teams | Pro | $24 | $16 | Per-seat AI credits | Seats + credits | 1,000 credits/mo; 100 GB | 2 hr export; 6 GB upload | No | No | Yes | Repurpose Studio costs 2 credits per input minute; no public REST API (plugin API only) | 10 lifetime credits; watermark; 4-min, 720p exports | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Pictory | Repurposing suite | Script/recorded video ā edited video and shorts | Starter | $29 | $25 | Export minutes + AI credits | Minutes + credits | 200 export min/mo + 100 AI credits/mo | 60 min for recorded-video editing | Yes | ? | ? | API is a separate $99/mo plan ($79/mo annual), not included with Starter | No permanent free plan (14-day/3-project trial) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| OpenShorts | Open-source self-hosted | Self-hosting/developer automation | Cloud | $12 | ā | Cloud source minutes or unlimited self-hosted | Minutes or self-host | 100 min/mo cloud; unlimited self-hosted | Not disclosed | Yes | Yes | Yes | MIT-licensed; Docker self-hosting; native REST, webhooks and MCP | Cloud: 20 min/mo with watermark; self-hosted: free and unlimited | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Whipscribe | Transcription + clip extraction | Transcription, transcript chat and clips | Starter credit pack | $8 one-time | ā | One-time, non-expiring minute packs | Minutes | 1,000 min (non-expiring) | Any length | Yes | Yes | ? | No subscription; self-serve API access requires at least $50 of credits | First transcript is free, any length | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Reelify | Local AI clipper | Local/private clipping on Mac | Starter | $15 | $4.92 | Unlimited local processing | Not metered | Unlimited AI clipping | Not disclosed | No | No | No | $59 buys a one-year Creator license; on-device; Apple Silicon and macOS 15+ | Up to 2 videos (watermark) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| Ascynd | Local AI clipper | Local/private desktop clipping | Planned Creator | $7.99 planned | ā | Unlimited local processing (planned subscription) | Not metered | Unlimited AI clip detection | No stated limit | No | No | No | Paid plans are announced but not yet active; on-device Windows, macOS and Linux | Full access free during open beta; no watermark | September 17, 2026 | site |
| LumiClip | Dedicated AI clipper | Automated clipping + channel monitoring | Paid plan | $9.99 | see site | Subscription metered by source minute | Minutes | Paid allowance not disclosed on crawlable page | Not disclosed | Yes | Yes | Yes | 30+ caption languages; monitors up to 10 channels; pricing selector is client-rendered | 60 source min/mo (720p; watermark) | September 17, 2026 | site |
| ClipMe | Dedicated AI clipper | Stream/VOD ā clips, including Kick | Pro | $29 | ā | VOD quota | Videos | Unlimited VODs/mo on current Pro plan table | 13 hr | Yes | Yes | Yes | 3 channels; API is listed on Studio, not Pro; hosted MCP remains beta/invite based | 8 VODs/mo under 5 hr; 1080p; no watermark; 7-day storage | September 17, 2026 | site |
Legend: Yes = confirmed on an official source Ā· No = not offered Ā· ? = not yet confirmed (never a guessed check).
25 videos. No minute math. API and MCP included. Local clippers (Reelify, Ascynd) optimise for one person in front of one Mac; Katto optimises for the workflow that keeps running when the human leaves ā cloud execution plus multi-platform publishing.
Methodology
Prices, quotas and capabilities were re-checked on each vendor's official pricing, help or developer pages on September 17, 2026. The annual column is the per-month equivalent under annual billing. "ā" means that billing option is not listed; "see site" means the amount is checkout-dependent or rendered dynamically. Quota models are kept explicit so minutes, credits, videos and clips are not treated as equivalent. API, MCP and auto-publish cells show "?" unless an official source confirms the capability. We never publish a guessed number. The "Metered by" column is derived from Pricing model, not independently sourced: it normalises the same fact into a short vocabulary so the table can be scanned on one axis.
Dataset version 2026.09. Prices change often. Found something out of date? Tell us.